Milestones, Part 2

As often happens lately, what I thought would be one Disciplehood post turned out to be too long to be read in one go. Therefore, I decided to split Milestones in two. Now for the navel-gazing promised in Part 1 of this accidental series:


Baldy’s Thirst Birthday Update

Baldy's Thirst BirthdayI celebrated a milestone of my own a few weeks ago, when I turned 45 on August 25. Regular readers will recall that I donated this birthday to charity, and invited anyone and everyone to support this campaign in the blog post Baldy’s Thirst Birthday.

Well, much to my disappointment, the move did not prevent me from turning 45. Also, I fell short of my goal of raising $1,000 US to fund clean drinking water projects in the developing world.

But I still consider the campaign a rollicking success. My friends, family and co-workers gave $737 to the fund, which is probably pretty close to $1,000 CDN. Also worth noting is that only $282 of the total came from people who’d normally have gotten me a birthday gift, so $455 US was money that would never have come to me, but is going to help make life better for the world’s least fortunate sons and daughters.

Most importantly, 24 people will get clean water.

Twenty-four.

That’s a decent-size elementary school class. Two soccer teams (plus two). The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Metallica, The Who, Kiss and Black Sabbath. That’s not a small number of people.

The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Metallica, The Who, Kiss and Black Sabbath

The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Metallica, The Who, Kiss and Black Sabbath: not a small number of people.

And the ship hasn’t sailed yet on reaching that $1,000 target. I officially stopped promoting it on August 25 at 11:59 p.m. MDT, but Charity: Water won’t actually close the campaign until September 30. Come on in; the water’s fine!

†     †     †

Disciplehood, Then and Now

In the earliest days of this blog, I apparently had a lot to say. I posted more entries in the last three months of 2010 than I did in the first 11 months of 2015.

noOne might wonder if I’ve lost interest in blogging, or indeed, if I’ve lost passion for Christ. Both are fair questions, but the answer to both of them is a definite no.

I continue to love to study and explore the Word and share what I learn and ponder in the e-pages of this blog. I love relating how I connect with my faith to the music, movies and TV shows that also profoundly inform my worldview. Blogging continues to give me great joy, and helps me to continue to keep moving in my walk with God.

We keep a variety of translations and study Bibles on our coffee table for our Bible study group to refer to. Naturally, everyone just looks stuff up on their phones.

We keep a variety of translations and study Bibles on our coffee table for our Bible study group to refer to. Naturally, everyone just looks stuff up on their phones.

Having said that, the ideas are not coming as fast and furious as they used to. I’ve picked most of the low-hanging fruit, as the saying goes, so I probably couldn’t keep up weekly (or better) pace I set as a target when I launched Disciplehood back in late September 2010.

Meanwhile, my life has also become a lot busier in the past six years: I went from being a stay-home dad and part-time freelance journalist to a full-time corporate communicator. I’ve gone from attending a home Bible study group to hosting and leading one. I’ve gotten increasingly involved in the leadership of Cursillo activities. I’m involved in a discernment process to explore whether I’m called to the priesthood. Meanwhile, my responsibilities at home haven’t diminished much during the Disciplehood era.

You could say that I’m too busy living out my disciplehood to write Disciplehood.

Could this guy be the source of the voice I was hearing?

Could this guy be the source of the voice I was hearing?

A few months ago, I even pondered making this my last entry – 300 is a good, round number, and six years is definitely enough time to demonstrate my level of commitment to the outlet.

I’ve gotten exasperated now and then with not being able to find enough quality time to write, and sometimes I’m dissatisfied with the quality of the post as I’m publishing it – but resign to press the button anyway, because half-assed is better than no-assed. Then, a few weeks later, I go back and re-read that supposedly lacklustre post and discover that it’s actually not bad – and I wonder if the naysayer voice that tried to talk me out of posting the entry was actually my own.

So on the whole, I’m still convinced that Disciplehood does some good. For me, for sure – and possibly even for some of you. So I’ll keep ’em coming. Sporadically and infrequently to be sure, but the flow will continue.

If you find yourself hungry for Disciplehood more quickly than the chow line is moving, feel free to sample the leftovers in the archive. Here are a few of my recent-ish favorites that you may have missed:

  • Perfect: Since right now is really all we have (the past is gone and the future isn’t here yet), if the thing I’m doing right now is the same thing I’d be doing if my life was perfect, does that mean that right now, my life is perfect?
  • The Lazarus Series: A three-post exploration of the friend whose death made Jesus weep in the Gospel of John, and the character of the same name in a parable Jesus told in the Gospel of Luke. Could these stories be related?

  • The R-Word Series: ‘Remember’ is an oft-repeated theme in the Bible. There are even a surprising number of instances when psalmists send reminders to God – as if an omniscient God could ever forget anything. Seems audacious and unnecessary – but is it possible God likes it when we plead with Her not to forget us?
  • In Want: The Lord is my Shepherd. I shall not be in want. We all know what it means to be in need, but what does it mean to be in want?
  • Roofs and Raincoats and Cup or Funnel?: These two posts aren’t a series, but they both compare God’s grace with a deluge of rain. Roofs and Raincoats suggests that we misguidedly hide from grace under spiritual tarps and umbrellas that we construct to ‘protect’ us – and the good news is that since we built them, we can step out from under them. Cup or Funnel asks whether we’re using a cup to catch God’s grace for ourselves, or a wide-mouthed funnel to share it with the rest of the world.

†     †     †

Prepare for glory, Disciplehooders. Theres more where the first 300 entries came from.

Prepare for glory, Disciplehooders. There’s more where the first 300 entries came from.

Well, that’s it.

Thanks for sticking around for the past 1,100 words, six years and 300 posts, reader(s).

I look forward to celebrating many more milestones with you over the months and years to come.

Peace be with you.

About robpetkau

Communications professional by day, amateur musician by night, worship leader (at Holy Trinity Anglican Church in Calgary) on weekends and aspiring Bible teacher in my dreams. Grateful husband to the woman who completes me. Doing-the-best-I-can dad to the son and daughter who keep me on my toes. Striving disciple of the GodMan who came, taught and died for me. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Walk, Faith, Gratitude, Love, Music, Saturday Night Live, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

