Knock Three Times

jesus-at-doorWe began this series by taking comfort in Revelation 3:20: Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.’

And I think comfort is an appropriate response to that verse. But there’s a difference between being comforted and getting comfortable. And when I look at this verse in context, I think it’s a warning specifically against getting too comfortable.

In Revelation 3:16, just four verses earlier, He declares, So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth.’

So maybe the Luke 13 ‘knock’ passages we looked at yesterday in Knock Two Times isn’t that different from Revelation 3:20 after all. And when I read the verses between 3:16 and 3:20, my ears burn a little:

This modern, colorful door on a house with beige vinyl siding looks a lot more like a lot of our front doors than the image above does.

Are the people whose front doors look like this one, rather than the one above, less likely to hear Jesus knocking? Are we less likely to let Him in? Just asking.

‘You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked. I counsel you to buy from me gold refined in the fire, so you can become rich; and white clothes to wear, so you can cover your shameful nakedness; and salve to put on your eyes, so you can see.
Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline. So be earnest and repent.
Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.’ – Revelation 3:17-20

Jesus was speaking, not to unbelievers, but to Christians in the affluent First-Century town of Laodicea, and as my friend Andy suggested at a Cursillo gathering recently, He’s also speaking to Christians in the affluent 21st-Century town of Calgary.

To what extent do we rely on our wealth, rather than our God?

The good news is that if the rebuke is for us as much as for them, so is the assurance provided in Verse 19: ‘Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline. So be earnest and repent.’

He’s not saying ‘I have spit you out of my mouth’, He’s saying ‘I am about to spit you out of my mouth.’ It’s not too late to warm up and/or cool down to the temperature Jesus requires of us; the Luke 13 door isn’t shut just yet, so seize the moment and grow!

Jesus isn’t mad at us, and He doesn’t want something from us here. He wants something for us! And He’s only bringing it up because He loves us, and knows we’re capable of more. What’s more, He isn’t telling us ‘You’ve blown it and not known it, so you’re screwed.’ He’s telling us ‘You’ve blown it and not known it, so let’s fix it – together!’

Jesus does stand at the door and knock. And He’s not merely willing to come in and eat with us, He’s eager.

Peace be with you.

†  †  †

Images

About robpetkau

Communications professional by day, amateur musician by night, worship leader (at Holy Trinity Anglican Church in Calgary) on weekends and aspiring Bible teacher in my dreams. Grateful husband to the woman who completes me. Doing-the-best-I-can dad to the son and daughter who keep me on my toes. Striving disciple of the GodMan who came, taught and died for me. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Faith, God, Gospel, Grace, Insight, New Testament, Relationship, Words, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Knock Three Times

  1. The white clothes Jesus says this church needs are similar to the fine linen in 19:8, the bright, shining pure/clean linen worn by the “bride.” These clothes are then interpreted as “the righteous deeds of the saints” (19:8). Rather than collecting expensive clothes on earth, which leaves one naked as far as righteous deeds (like giving help to the destitute), the unrighteous church can become clothed with shining linen if they give up riches and upward mobility in order to show the generous love of Jesus to the most needy.

  2. robpetkau says:

    Well said, my friend. Thanks for visiting and commenting!

  3. Pingback: Wordless Groans | Disciplehood

Leave a Reply

