Knock One Time

doorbell-post-itSo a few months ago, my front doorbell stopped working. But don’t worry, I dealt with the situation quickly and decisively. (See the photo at left.)

The post-it note is merely temporary, but as an engineer friend of mind once quipped, ‘There’s nothing as permanent as something that’s temporary.’

Come and knock on our door...

Come and knock on our door…

Regardless of how temporary the situation actually  is (or isn’t), my family and I have become quite familiar with the sound of people knocking on the door. And maybe that’s why a few passages in the Bible about knocking have caught my attention lately.

The word ‘knock’ appears about a dozen times times in the New International Version of the Bible – from a lover’s midnight knock on the door in the Song of Songs to the frightened knocking of the knees of the king in Daniel 5.

Kevin Phillips Bong (Slightly Silly Party

Kevin Phillips-Bong, failed candidate for the Slightly Silly Party in Monty Python’s Election Night Special (1970)

Rhoda

Rhoda

There’s a slightly silly story in Acts 12, where Rhoda the servant is so excited that Peter is knocking on the door that she runs off to tell the other disciples the great news – rather than opening the door for him.

I wonder if we do that sometimes with Jesus. Does He knock on our doors, and find us so surprised, flummoxed and overjoyed that it’s Him that, without realizing it, we fail to let Him in, or ask Him what He wants?

'Baldy,' says Stuart Smalley of SNL fame, 'you're shoulding all over yourself!'

‘Baldy,’ says Stuart Smalley of SNL fame, ‘you’re shoulding all over yourself!’

We really shouldn’t be that surprised when Jesus knocks. After all, in Revelation 3:20, Jesus says Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.’

jesus-at-doorThat’s a pretty comforting picture of our God, isn’t it? He’s always standing at the door of our hearts, and patiently, faithfully knocking. All we have to do is open the door, and he’ll be with us!

And while the knocking-opening roles are reversed, that image is similar to the one painted in the Sermon on the Mount, where Jesus famously declares, Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.’ (Matthew 7:7)

With these verses placed side by side, I’m tempted to get bogged down in trying to understand who actually does the knocking in this relationship, me or Jesus. But instead, I think I’ll focus on the openness and accessibility that both verses unmistakably point toward and be comforted and encouraged.

However, Luke 13:22-30 puts God’s willingness to open the door for us in a very different light:

Once the owner of the house gets up and closes the door, you will stand outside knocking and pleading, ‘Sir, open the door for us.’
But he will answer, ‘I don’t know you or where you come from.’ – Luke 13:25

Gulp.

More on that tomorrow. For now …

Peace be with you.

†  †  †

Images

About robpetkau

Communications professional by day, amateur musician by night, worship leader (at Holy Trinity Anglican Church in Calgary) on weekends and aspiring Bible teacher in my dreams. Grateful husband to the woman who completes me. Doing-the-best-I-can dad to the son and daughter who keep me on my toes. Striving disciple of the GodMan who came, taught and died for me. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Bible, Faith, God, Monty Python, Relationship, Saturday Night Live, Sin, Words, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

