The A-Word, Part 4

A few days ago, I concluded the first instalment in this A-Word series with the following sentence:

God is. Period.

My point was to suggest that, not only is this sentence complete without further verbiage, but the adding of further verbiage dilutes the meaning of the sentence, rather than clarifying it.

40 simple truthsAnd only now, as we’re just week away from the start of Lent 2014, has it dawned on me that during Lent 2013, I wrote a 40-part series prayerfully and earnestly and deliberately adding more words to that sentence.

God is Good. God is Great. God is Love. God is Patient. God is Kind. (You get the idea.)

Sheesh, Baldy. Do-as-I-say,-not-as-I-do-much?

Touche, readers.

But I’m still pretty confident that both 40 Simple Truths and The A-Word Series are of God. The fact that they can be looked at as being contradictory of each other is simply evidence that God has a sense of humor.

Now, as I come to the fourth part of a 3,000-word series that was initially going to be a short one-parter (if that), I’m confronted with the reality that I don’t know how to wrap it up.

Or, at least, I didn’t until now.

iamYesterday, I mentioned John 8:58, in which Jesus makes the startling declaration, ‘Before Abraham was born, I am.’ But I just remembered (all by myself, no doubt) another iconic passage in which Jesus uses the A-word.

‘Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life.'” – John 14:6a

As that sentence rolled around in my mind a moment ago, it was followed by the Primary School Doubting Thomas response, ‘I know You are, but what am I?’

And then, accompanied by a wave of Goosebumps, I received an answer that quotes my own Twitter bio:

‘You said it yourself: “I am a beloved child of God and a temple of the Holy Spirit.” Now go, and live like it!’

Peace be with you.

†  †  †

Image

About robpetkau

Communications professional by day, amateur musician by night, worship leader (at Holy Trinity Anglican Church in Calgary) on weekends and aspiring Bible teacher in my dreams. Grateful husband to the woman who completes me. Doing-the-best-I-can dad to the son and daughter who keep me on my toes. Striving disciple of the GodMan who came, taught and died for me. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, God, Omnipresence, Words, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

