God is Master

40 simple truthsThe other day, I was in a hurry to get someplace in my car, so I stomped on the gas pedal to get there a few seconds earlier. And then it occurred to me that I don’t need to break the laws of man to meet some self-imposed deadline; if God needs me there by a certain time, He’ll break the laws of nature to make it happen.

I’m convinced He’s done that for me several times in my life – one of my favorite such occurrences is described in Felix Felicis, a Disciplehood post about the genesis of Genesis – the very first Disciplehood post.

The laws of physics, space and time owe their very existence and their continued functioning to God. Therefore, if it serves His purposes to set them aside for a moment or two, He can and He will – because God is Master.

He’s master of galaxies and electrons, and everything in between; of all things animal, vegetable, mineral and spiritual. And He’s master of you and of me.

Or, at least, He wants to be and is entitled to be.

As I said a couple of weeks ago in God is Respectful, God could require us to do things His way. He could even take control of our bodies and force us to do His will. But instead, He gives us the free will to choose whether to acknowledge his mastery over us – or not.

Putting it in those terms is pretty unpalatable, isn’t it? It’s so much more pleasant to call it a partnership (which it is) or a friendship (which it is) or mentorship (which it is), but when our relationship with God is working like it’s supposed to, it is also to be one of Master and vassal.

This sounds scary and degrading (and that’s just how our Enemy wants it to sound), but remember that this Master knows you inside and out. He knows what you’re capable of and what you’re meant to do and be, far better than you do. And whatever else you’re meant to be and do, it fits inside the heart-shaped box called God is Master. Your Master only wants the best for you, and the surest (and only) route to a well-lived life is through Him. Because your Master is God, and God is Good and God is Love.

By the way, that day I was in a hurry but decided to leave my arrival time to God, I didn’t arrive on time.

I was early.

Quite likely, this is not due to God’s hands-on intervention in the space-time continuum, but due to the probable fact I overestimated how long it would take me to get there in the first place. Most of those occasions where I think I see divine intervention in my life, it’s probably all in my head.

But as Dumbledore famously says in Harry Potter in the Deathly Hallows“Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry. But why on Earth should that mean that it is not real?”

Peace be with you.

About robpetkau

Communications professional by day, amateur musician by night, worship leader (at Holy Trinity Anglican Church in Calgary) on weekends and aspiring Bible teacher in my dreams. Grateful husband to the woman who completes me. Doing-the-best-I-can dad to the son and daughter who keep me on my toes. Striving disciple of the GodMan who came, taught and died for me. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in 40 Simple Truths, God, Lent, Love, Mercy of God, Sacrifice, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to God is Master

  1. Pingback: God is Servant | Disciplehood

  2. Pingback: 40 Simple Truths (at a glance) | Disciplehood

  3. Pingback: We’re There Already? | Disciplehood

Leave a Reply

