God Loves You

40 simple truthsGod loves you. You probably knew that already, but have you let that reality grab hold of you recently?

Every now and then, I slip back into my default understanding of the love of God. It’s quite easy for me to accept that God loves all of His creation, and since I’m part of that creation, He loves me too. Or that He loves all of His children in a general and sweeping way – sort of in the way I love all of Canada.

Only multiplied by a million or more.

And that’s entirely true. He does love all Humanity collectively. But if we stop there, we’re missing something huge.

“The word of the Lord came to me, saying, ‘Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.’” – Jeremiah 1:4-5

Before you were a twinkle in your daddy’s eye, God knew you.

“What do you think? If a man owns a hundred sheep, and one of them wanders away, will he not leave the ninety-nine on the hills and go to look for the one that wandered off? And if he finds it, truly I tell you, he is happier about that one sheep than about the ninety-nine that did not wander off. In the same way your Father in heaven is not willing that any of these little ones should perish.” – Matthew 18:12-14

That passage doesn’t use the word ‘love’, but only because it doesn’t need to.

And In Luke 12:6-7, Jesus tells us that the hairs of our head are all numbered – that God keeps track of every tiny, common sparrow individually, and then underscores that each person is worth more than many sparrow.

You who are parents of more than one child, did you suddenly love your first child less when your second child was born? Of course not! In some cases, the arrival of Bambino #2 increases the love we have for our firstborn, because we’re better able to see certain qualities in one child when they’re viewed in contrast to those of the other, and vice-versa.

As it is with us and our bambinos, so is it with our Father and His.

Only multiplied by a million or more.

God loves you with every fibre of His being. And that is saying something.

Peace be with you.

About robpetkau

Communications professional by day, amateur musician by night, worship leader (at Holy Trinity Anglican Church in Calgary) on weekends and aspiring Bible teacher in my dreams. Grateful husband to the woman who completes me. Doing-the-best-I-can dad to the son and daughter who keep me on my toes. Striving disciple of the GodMan who came, taught and died for me. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in 40 Simple Truths, Bible, God, Lent, Love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to God Loves You

  1. Pingback: God Loves Everyone | Disciplehood

  2. Pingback: God Believes in You | Disciplehood

  3. Pingback: 40 Simple Truths (at a glance) | Disciplehood

Leave a Reply

