God Listens

40 simple truthsHave you ever had the feeling that the person you’re talking to isn’t really listening to you?

I have.

My wife and kids have had it more often, though. Especially if I’m the ‘listener’ in question.

I tend to tune out a bit if the topic is less than ‘riveting’, according to my fickle and narrow definition of the term. I know this is a failing of mine. I’m working on it, and I think I’m getting better, but I confess that I sometimes struggle to give people my undivided attention.

But thankfully, that’s not the case with our Lord. God listens, actively, to every word we say to Him. His undivided attention is yours, whenever you want it.

Think about that for a second. The Creator of the universe, the Alpha and Omega, the Great I Am, is ready, willing and eager to listen to little, old you – 24/7. As if that’s not staggering enough, He’s able to give His undivided attention to everyone at the same time! How does that work? Simple. He’s God.

So what should one say when one has the ear of the King of the Universe?

Well, we can and should praise Him and thank Him and confess to Him during these conversations. We can ask Him for good gifts, too. We can (and should) ask Him specific questions on what His will for us is, too. (More on that one tomorrow).

But our prayers don’t need to stop there.

I like to reminisce with Him about funny or touching moments from earlier that day or three decades ago – I sometimes even describe the details of what happened, as if He hadn’t been right there with me and His memory wasn’t vastly superior to mine. I laugh with Him at the same stupid jokes that made me chuckle a dozen times before. And He never rolls His eyes at me and groans, ‘Oh, not the tiger joke again!

We can talk to Him about our hopes, our dreams, our struggles and our worries (and we can give them all to Him to work out on our behalf). We can complain to Him about work, or school, or about that annoying family member who won’t shut up (or won’t open up) or the neighbor whose dog won’t stop yapping.

We can even tell Him how He’s disappointed us. He doesn’t mind. He has thick skin, big shoulders and all the time in the world.

And in my experience, talking to Him always makes me feel better. More valued. Stronger – and yet, with less baggage to carry.

Always.

So if you haven’t talked to God lately, He invites you to try it soon. Or better yet, right now.

After all, His undivided attention is yours for the taking, whenever you want it.

Peace be with you.

About robpetkau

Communications professional by day, amateur musician by night, worship leader (at Holy Trinity Anglican Church in Calgary) on weekends and aspiring Bible teacher in my dreams. Grateful husband to the woman who completes me. Doing-the-best-I-can dad to the son and daughter who keep me on my toes. Striving disciple of the GodMan who came, taught and died for me. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in 40 Simple Truths, God, Insight, Lent, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God Listens

  1. Pingback: God Answers | Disciplehood

  2. Pingback: 40 Simple Truths (at a glance) | Disciplehood

Leave a Reply

