God is Big

40 simple truthsGod is big.

He has to be – after all, we established yesterday that He’s everywhere, and the universe is a pretty big place, so the God who indwells it all must also be pretty big.

King David understood the bigness of God. He even complained about it a little in Psalm 139:7-8:

Where can I go from your Spirit?
    Where can I flee from your presence?
If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
    if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.

It’s tempting to get a little exasperated by the fact God is so big He’s inescapable, isn’t it?

Sometimes, when we’d rather just be mediocre (or worse), part of us would rather God not see what we’re up to. Sometimes we just want a little peace, to not have to worry about whether we’re in step with Him or not. The righteousness of God, and our unworthiness to be in His presence in light of our unrighteousness, can be a pretty heavy yoke if we look at it wrong.

It can feel a little like God is a cosmic Big Brother, watching our every move with increasing disapproval.

But when we think about the fact that God is Big, and God is Everywhere, we need to remember that God is Good, God is Patient and God is Love – and therefore His constant presence can only build us up, not tear us down.

‘If God is for us, who can be against us?’ – Romans 8:31b

David understood this, too as Psalm 139 continues:

‘If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
    if I settle on the far side of the sea,
 even there your hand will guide me,
    your right hand will hold me fast.
If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
    and the light become night around me,”
even the darkness will not be dark to you;
    the night will shine like the day,
    for darkness is as light to you.’ – Psalm 139:9-12

Or, as Bob the Tomato put it,

God is bigger than the bogeyman. He’s bigger than Godzilla or the monsters on TV
God is bigger than the bogeyman, and He’s watching out for you and me!

Peace be with you.

About robpetkau

Communications professional by day, amateur musician by night, worship leader (at Holy Trinity Anglican Church in Calgary) on weekends and aspiring Bible teacher in my dreams. Grateful husband to the woman who completes me. Doing-the-best-I-can dad to the son and daughter who keep me on my toes. Striving disciple of the GodMan who came, taught and died for me. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in 40 Simple Truths, God, Lent, Love, Omnipresence. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God is Big

  1. Pingback: God is Gentle | Disciplehood

Leave a Reply

