Resolutions 2013

Image Source: http://www.vita.mn/music/184865561.html

This isn’t me, by the way. I WISH I looked that good in a diaper. Image Source: http://www.vita.mn/music/184865561.html

As I’ve said before, I’m not a big believer in New Year’s Resolutions. I’m more of a ‘Today is the first day of the rest of your life‘ kinda guy. An ‘Every day is New Year’s Day‘ kinda guy.

But that never stopped me before. And January 1 is no less the first day of the rest of my life, and no less New Year’s Day than any other day.

Therefore, here is my list of New Year’s Resolutions for 2013 – in the order in which they popped into my melon. Perhaps, therefore, the order is significant. Or perhaps not.

In 2013, I resolve:

  • To love my wife better (and more often – nudge, nudge).
  • To become as patient, generous and upbeat with my children as I am with my co-workers. (Or better yet, moreso.) [‘After 10 deposits of praise into my children’s lives, I have earned the right to offer one challenge.’ – Randy Frazee on Ephesians 6:4]
  • To make more time for my parents and siblings (and those of my wife) – even if it’s just a phone call or an email. (I regressed in this area in 2012, and that is saying something!)
  • To walk my dogs more often. Or at all.
  • To go to the gym more often. Or at all. (My workplace has its own high-quality fitness centre, and my gym bag is in my office, but I don’t seem to be getting any healthier. What’s up with that?)
  • To both work smarter and harder, and yet to work less and earn more. (It’s not any less realistic than the last one, so why not toss it in there?)
  • To become an absolute master of social media – a better Bookfacer, an überTwit, a LinkedInator, a Youtubissimo and a WordPressario. Professionally and otherwise.
  • To give more. More time, more money, more prayer. More.
  • To save more. More for retirement, more for education, more for vacations. More.
  • To waste less. Less money, less time, less energy. Less.
  • To worry less – or at least get better at giving my worries to God.
  • To get better at playing the banjo.
  • To get better at playing the bodhran.
  • To get better at playing the bass.
  • To get better at playing the guitar.
  • To write and record more worship songs. The last one was All the More, in early 2011. I’m long, long overdue.
  • To read and/or listen to more of the Bible.
  • To be a better Bible study group member.
  • To be a better friend.
  • To be a better worship leader at my church.
  • To be a better worship leader at Cursillo. (There are differences).
  • To be a better evangelist.
  • To sponsor more people to attend Cursillo for the first time. (Interested? Let’s talk!)
  • To be a better Charlie Church.
  • To be a better ambassador for Christ.
  • To be a better follower of Christ.
  • To appreciate my pastor more.
  • To follow his teachings more.
  • To judge less and love more.
  • To shake hands less and hug more.
  • To understand what love really looks like more.
  • To preach the Gospel less with my mouth and more with my actions.
  • To wish and wonder less and hope and trust more.
  • To categorize less.
  • To be less of the problem and more of the solution.
  • To make Lent count more this year. Whatever that means.
  • To connect more fully with Easter this year. Somehow.
  • To stop being so negative, sarcastic and self-deprecating. (As if that’s ever gonna happen, fatty!) [OK, that one’s not quite original. But it’s so awesome and applicable, I had to include it.]
  • To go on more weekend getaways with my sweet babboo.
  • To play more.
  • To date more.
  • To write more.
  • To curse less and bless more.
  • To react less and respond more.
  • To rebuke less and praise more.
  • To talk less and listen more.
  • To stop neglecting my reader(s) already and blog the Hell out of 2013. Literally, if I can.

Whew. That’s a pretty long list. Perhaps a tad ambitious? For one man, it’s downright impossible. But with God, all things are possible. Even for a lethargic, doubting, fickle doofus in lucky number 2013. Right. No more self-deprecating negativity.

Good thing it’s not 2013 until tomorrow.

Peace be with you.

About robpetkau

Communications professional by day, amateur musician by night, worship leader (at Holy Trinity Anglican Church in Calgary) on weekends and aspiring Bible teacher in my dreams. Grateful husband to the woman who completes me. Doing-the-best-I-can dad to the son and daughter who keep me on my toes. Striving disciple of the GodMan who came, taught and died for me. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Walk, Christianity, Church, Clergy, Easter, Evangelism, Faith, God, Gospel, Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

