Remember, Part 1

Forget? Not if my kids have anything to say about it.

My wife and I attended an excellent Remembrance Day assembly at our kids’ school on Friday, and both Petkau kids helped make it memorable.

Ian, wearing his Cub Scout uniform, was among the Grade 5 kids who sang O Canada en françaisKatie gave a poignant performance as a mom who’d lost her son in the Second World War.

They both did great, and I’m so proud.

Proud because they had the nerve to perform in front of the whole school and parents, and proud that they did an impeccable job. Proud that Katie, who was mostly overlooked in drama productions last year, was given the meatiest role of the play and she nailed it!

But mostly, I was proud that this year, they stood up in public and showed their appreciation for Canada’s veterans. Lest we forget? Not on their watch!

It was a great assembly all-round – the school should be commended for its efforts to bring Remembrance Day to life for its students.

But it wasn’t just great for the kids. I got more out of the assembly than I have out of many of the Remembrance Day ceremonies I’ve attended over the years.

Maybe it’s simply because I’ve been a Christian, Canadian, a husband and a father for longer now than in previous years, so I’ve had more time to appreciate how great I’ve got it. Perhaps it was the earnestness of the performances these young thespians and musicians gave. Or simply the amount of effort our neighborhood middle school put into the event (in stark and refreshing contrast to  some other Alberta schools’ decisions to make Remembrance Day participation optional for some kids).

And let’s not forget the bugler.

I’ve attended many Remembrance Day ceremonies over the years, but never have I heard The Last Post performed live, by an actual bugler – it’s always been on CD, pumped through the auditorium’s sound system. The difference was startling for me. Chills and goosebumps.

The bugler, identified only as Mr. Nichols, played the haunting melody flawlessly, and I had to blink away tears. It’s an assembly I won’t soon forget.

Thank you, Mr. Nichols, and thank you, Nose Creek School!

Peace be with you.

Image Sources:

About robpetkau

Communications professional by day, amateur musician by night, worship leader (at Holy Trinity Anglican Church in Calgary) on weekends and aspiring Bible teacher in my dreams. Grateful husband to the woman who completes me. Doing-the-best-I-can dad to the son and daughter who keep me on my toes. Striving disciple of the GodMan who came, taught and died for me. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Insight, Sacrifice, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

