Re-Lent 2012

Holy Moly! It’s Holy Week already!

Lent sure went fast this year for me – probably thanks in part to the fact I’ve taken on a huge worship music project this spring (Cursillo Music Director) and am taking a Confirmation Class (bragging, not complaining). Meanwhile, my family and I are beginning the process of looking for a bigger home (both bragging and complaining).

But whatever the reason, Lent felt about three weeks long this year, rather than the usual twelve (Check out last year’s Lent and Re-Lent posts for my 2011 thoughts on this). Yeah, I know it’s six weeks, but it sure feels longer – normally.

And as the Palm Sunday Parade stampeded past me the other day, a question occurred to me: If Lent passes quickly for me, am I doing it wrong?

Or, since Lent was made for people, rather than people made for Lent, perhaps there is no wrong way to do Lent – except not at all. Probably worth pondering.

But either way, Lent is just about over now, so it’s about time for a little navel-gazing.

Six weeks or so ago, in my Lent 2012 post, I announced that I was giving up self-reliance for Lent this year, and I have to call the exercise a qualified success.

‘Qualified’ because I fell a bit short of a perfect record in the category of ‘Letting Go and Letting God’ from Ash Wednesday to now.

Like about 95% short.

But since my pre-Ash Wednesday 2012 score was probably about 3%, I call a mark of 5% a monumental improvement.

And my life is probably more than 2% better as a result of this baby step. I can think of several examples where things have turned out much better when I’ve given an issue to God and actually let go, than they would have if I’d micro-managed it on my own steam. (Incidentally, I think it’s awesome that in God’s Hierarchy, we get to delegate to our Master. Yet another example of how things are upside-down in our world.)

You can call my success with these items a psychosomatic exercise in self-fulfilling prophecy if you like, but you can’t argue with success!

And regarding other topics I’ve delegated upwards, where the positive resolutions have yet to arrive, I still feel better than if I’d spent the last three fortnights obsessing about them – with nothing more to show for the exercise than new wrinkles.

“Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life?” – Luke 12:25.

Amen. Preach it, J.C.!

But the real measure of success in my Lenten journey isn’t really how far it’s taken me, but whether or not it will continue: Will I keep on keeping on in the Let Go and Let God (LGLG) Department, or revert to my Cling On and Make Rob (COMR) default?

You’d think this would be a no-brainer.

After all, LGLG is much easier and much less stressful than COMR. But you have to actively decide to be an LGLG guy – multiple times per day – and remember to implement this decision, also multiple times per day. COMR is the path of least resistance, so it’s very easy to slip back into this idiotic rut.

So will I continue to get better at letting go and letting God after Easter Sunday?

To borrow a phrase from the Anglican Baptismal Covenant, I will, with God’s help.

Peace be with you.

About robpetkau

Communications professional by day, amateur musician by night, worship leader (at Holy Trinity Anglican Church in Calgary) on weekends and aspiring Bible teacher in my dreams. Grateful husband to the woman who completes me. Doing-the-best-I-can dad to the son and daughter who keep me on my toes. Striving disciple of the GodMan who came, taught and died for me. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, Insight, Lent, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Re-Lent 2012

  1. Pingback: 40 Simple Truths | Disciplehood

Leave a Reply

