(Red and) Green Blogging

This morning, I realized that we’re just six sleeps away from Christmas morning and I haven’t written a single phrase about Advent or Christmas for my adoring reader(s).

Then I realized why: I said it all last year. I have absolutely nothing to add to my 2010 Christmas Disciplehood posts.

They’re THAT good.

Or I’m THAT unimaginative.

I can’t imagine how preachers can manage to find new insights to share on these stories year after year after year. The story’s 2,000 years old, and in the NIV translation the whole shebang is just under 2,000 words long* – what is there left to say?

But somehow they do it – these hard-working men and women of the cloth come up with new sermons about angels and babies and shepherds and magi and censuses and stars and Herod and donkeys and stables and mangers, every year.

Ho-ho-holy moly, that’s harder than you think!

About this time last year, I assumed I’d be able to do the same – that new Christmas wonders would occur to me and I’d have plenty of time to share my new noggy epiphanies with my readers. But they haven’t yet, and with less than a week to go, it seems unlikely they will. I’ll have to be a more purposeful next year, and seek out these tinselly treasures through study and deliberate reflection, rather than waiting for them to come to me. I’ve apparently picked all the low-hanging sugarplums.

But rather than going red with exertion or embarrassment about it, for this year I’ve decided to have a green Christmas, blog-wise.

‘Green’ as in environmentally friendly – I’m recycling last year’s entries!

  • In Christmas Music, Part 1, we sing the virtues of saving Christmas carols until Christmas Eve – at least in church services – like we do at Holy Trinity Anglican Church. Don’t knock it ‘til you’ve tried it.
  • Christmas Music, Part 2 is a sure-fire, how-to guide to choosing the ultimate Santastic and Bethlehemic playlist. No need for us to update this one in 2011 – nobody released a Yuletide tunes disc worthy of purchase this year (and yes, we’re aware of Michael Buble. Check out Calgary crooner Tim Tamashiro’s Love at Christmas for a taste of modern lounge lizard Christmas at its best).
  • In Exce$$mas, we waggle our finger at everyone who ever whined about not being ‘allowed’ to say Merry Christmas anymore. We never get tired of this rant!
  • And in Silent Night? we pose the question, which was tougher on Jesus – Christmas or Easter?

If you missed these little gems last year, I encourage you to check them out. And even if you did, give ‘em another read.

These posts are exactly like fruitcake – they never get stale. But they’re also not at all like fruitcake – they’re not disgusting! (Why on heaven or earth would Grandma think we want to eat orange peel in December, when we throw it away the rest of the year?!? No wonder she got run over by a reindeer.)

Next year, I promise to have some new material for Christmas. But for now, this’ll have to do.

O come let us adore Him.

Peace be with you.

* The Christmas stories in the Gospels of Matthew and Luke (NIV) – not including the bits about John the Baptist or the Genealogy of Jesus – add up to about 1,900 words, excluding headlines.

About robpetkau

Communications professional by day, amateur musician by night, worship leader (at Holy Trinity Anglican Church in Calgary) on weekends and aspiring Bible teacher in my dreams. Grateful husband to the woman who completes me. Doing-the-best-I-can dad to the son and daughter who keep me on my toes. Striving disciple of the GodMan who came, taught and died for me. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

