Goosebumps, Part 4

A funny thing happened to me on my way to the laundry room this morning… I got goosebumps during prayer for a specific person.

Serious goosebumps.

Goosebumps seem to function as godliness geiger counters for me (see Goosebumps Parts 1, 2 and 3 from this time last year https://robpetkau.wordpress.com/2010/10/01/goosebumps/), so when I felt these poky little visitors, I figured God was up to something.

I’ll recount the incident so you can get a sense of what I’m talking about.

I like to pray when I’m doing utilitarian tasks, like showering, folding clothes or driving on Deerfoot (I don’t think this violates Alberta’s new distracted driving law), as a way of bringing meaning to the menial.

As I folded shirts this morning, I prayed for my friend Al – a work colleague whose contract ends today and, as far as I know, doesn’t have a new job yet. I don’t remember the exact words I used in the prayer, but they were something like this:

‘Lord, I pray for Al. Help him to find a new job soon, and during this process, bless him. Bless him with the knowledge that you’re with him. And bless him with the knowledge of how much you love him, and how special he is. I see a lot of his Father in him, Lord…’

That’s when the wave of goosebumps hit. A powerful wave. Stronger than I’ve felt in a while. My breathing and my pulse quickened, and I realized I had to tell somebody about this.

More specifically, I had to tell Al about this.

Because I’m a better writer than I am a speaker (and a bit of a chicken), I decided to write a blog entry about this experience, and send Al a link to it. I have no idea how he’ll react to it – if he reacts at all. He’s not a Christian, as far as I know, so he might well be offended and reject both the message and the messenger.

But this isn’t really about me and him, it’s about him and Him. I think God wants me to drop that Jesus Loves You bombshell on Al and let Him take it from there.

I’ll continue to pray for you, buddy, and I invite my reader(s) to do the same. God is with you, and if He is with you, who can be against you?

Peace be with you.

About robpetkau

Communications professional by day, amateur musician by night, worship leader (at Holy Trinity Anglican Church in Calgary) on weekends and aspiring Bible teacher in my dreams. Grateful husband to the woman who completes me. Doing-the-best-I-can dad to the son and daughter who keep me on my toes. Striving disciple of the GodMan who came, taught and died for me. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goosebumps, Part 4

  1. Pingback: Bloggiversary | Disciplehood

Leave a Reply

